Roundstone All Ireland Champion of Champions Results 2009

A dream come true at Roundstone
McGrath family celebrate

The All Ireland Champion of Champions Connemara Pony show at Roundstone provided the McGrath family from Hazelrock House, Claregalway, with a memorable day as Kieran McGrath’s two-year-old colt Glencarrig Romeo (Bunowen Bobby-Fairyhill Helen) won the Junior championship and the Murty McGrath memorial cup given by the family to Roundstone in memory of their father.

The show was honoured by a visit from Deputy Enda Kenny T.D. Leader of Fine Gael who presented the cup. The reserve junior championship remained in Roundstone with Caillin Conneely’s Letterdyfe Rachel Rose (Frederiksminde Hazy Match-Letterdyfe Rose). Judged supreme champion foal was Monaghanstown Shannon (Linsfort Barney-Monaghanstown Sheeba) owned by Pat & Mary Rabbitt from Monaghanstown Stud, in Westmeath. Caoranbeg Champ owned by Peter O’Malley from Carraroe was reserve champion foal.

The good wine was kept till last, with a perfect end to a perfect day, when judges Jane Darragh wife of the late Paul Darragh and Michael Western from Grey Abbey, Belfast, awarded Glencarrig Romeo Supreme All Ireland Champion of champions ahead of Dooneen Alice (Frederiksminde Hazy Match-Jennifer Rose) owned and bred by Peter Molloy from Claddaghduff in reserve.

Chairman Paddy McDonagh and his committee deserve great credit for the overall presentation and attention to detail that surrounds this show. On Sunday the founders of 1923 would have been proud as Deputy Kenny in his opening speech complimented all the good work done over the years by so many breeders and their true dedication over the years towards the preservation of Irelands native Connemara Pony, perhaps few more so than Murty McGrath from Cregmore, on Sunday his sons did him proud.

Roundstone All Ireland Champion of Champions 13. Sept. 2009


Yearling colt: 1. Peter Molloy’s Dooneen Hazy Rebel, by Frederiksminde Hazy Match- Jennifer Rose; 2. Sean Bourke’s Rathlacken Richard, by Seoigeach-Katie the Kid; 3. Kieran McGrath’s Hazelrock Horizon, by Bunowen Bobby-Smokey Jimmy

Yearling filly: 1. Caillin Conneely’s Letterdyfe Rachel Rose, by Frederiksminde Hazy Match- Letterdyfe Rose; 2. Martin Nee’s Doonreagha Chris, by Clooneille Cashel –Doonreagha Star; 3. Gerry King’s Ballafadda Lady, by Linsfort Barney-Cashel Bay Heather

Two year-old filly: 1. Damien Gorham’s Doonhill Queen, by Currachmore Cashel-Connemara Lady; 2. Sinead Lusby-McGrath’s Lucky Molly, by Smokey Idea-Lucky Mavourneen; 3. Cathy Stuffle’s Aoifes Pride, by Glendine Kestrel-Jasmine

Three year-old filly: 1. Peter Molloy’s Dooneen Stephanie Rose, by Laerkens Cascade Dawn- Jennifer Rose; 2. Pat O’Neill’s Illaunurra Heather, by Silver Shadow-Illaunurra Mist; 3. Gearoid Curran’s Glencarrig Rose, by Coosheen Storm Boy-April Rose

Two &Three year-old colts: 1. Kieran McGrath’s Glencarrig Romeo, by Bunowen Bobby- Fairyhill Helen; 2, Sean Conneely’s John’s Pride, by Rathcoona Cove-Ros Eo; 3, Bartley Conroy’s Callowfeenish Grey, by Monaghanstown Pat-Callowfeenish Mist

Junior champion: Glencarrig Romeo Reserve: Letterdyfe Rachel Rose

Filly foal: 1. Pat & Mary Rabbitt’s Monaghanstown Shannon, by Linsfort Barney- Monaghanstown Sheeba; 2. Sean Cooney’s Loughmore Katy, by Kingstown Boy-Corrib Misty; 3. Cathal Mullen’s Gurteen Independent, by Linsfort Barney-Independent.

Colt foal: 1. Peter O’Malley’s Caoranbeg Champ, by Moorland Snowy River-Ballowstown Bibi; 2. Myles Feeney’s by Fernville Danny-Tullykyne Princess; 3. Martin Nee’s Doonreagh Marty, by Coolillaun Cushlawn-Doonreagh Star

Champion foal: Monaghanstown Shannon Reserve: Caoranbeg Champ

Stallions: 1. Eamon Burke’s Clooneile Cashel, by Cloonisle Cashel-Tolka Bridge; 2. Robbie & Barbara Fallon’s Cashelbay Cruise, by I Love you Melody-Coosheen Pheasant; 3. Sid Whorley’s Ballinavilla Prince, by Mervyn Pookhaun-Doon Fairy

Four to six year-old mare with or without foal: 1, Peter Molloy’s Dooneen Alice, by Frederiksminde Hazy Match-Jennifer Rose; 2. P.J.Burke’s Glencarrig Maud, by Castlestrange Fionn-Coosheen Breeze; 3. Roger & Laura Brady’s Vinnura Lola, by Drymills Bridgeboy- Cloonboy Lady

Seven to twelve year-old mare with or without foal: 1. Noel Brett’s Foreglos Lass, by Wings of Victory-Foreglos Matchmaker; 2. Bernard Keaney’s Murvey Cara, by Boden Park Finnard- Cashel Cherry; 3. Michael Naughton’s Glencarrig Roisin, by Castlestrange Fionn-April Rose

Mare thirteen year-old and over with or without foal: 1. Frances & Deirdre O’Reilly’s Glenmore Kelly’s Owen, by Abbeyleix Owen-Gentian Gold; 2. Jane Andrew’s Coral Mistys Jane, by Cloonisle Cashel-Coral Misty; 3. Grace Maxwell Murphy’s Lakeside Lady, by Abbeyleix Dolphin-Kits Bay

Gelding class: 1. Grace Maxwell Murphy’s Smokey Biscuit, by Glencarrig Prince-Smokey Star (one entry)

Bay Mare class: 1. Seamus Keady’s Gleann Rua Godiva, by Westside Mirah-Moonlight; 2. Patrick Conneely’s Moyvoon Breeze, by Streamstown Larry-Moyvoon Lady 3. Pat O’Neill’s Illaunurra Mist, by Corncullen Silver Belle-Village Mist

All Ireland Supreme Champion of Champions: Glencarrig Romeo Reserve: Dooneen Alice

Roundstone Show Chairman Paddy McDonagh with Deputy Enda Kenny.T.D. Leader of Fine Gael, who opened the All Ireland Champion of Champions Connemara Pony show

Roundstone Show Chairman Paddy McDonagh with Deputy Enda Kenny.T.D. Leader of Fine Gael, who opened the All Ireland Champion of Champions Connemara Pony show

Ruth Rogers 14/9/09